top of page
  • andreazurlo

"When the Angels Call" by Tony Zurlo


 

I often wonder about dying.

The stage lures and terrifies,

Fire and ice on the same night.

Play it safe and finish,

play it with a flare,

shame or fanfare?

Will there be a dress rehearsal?

Will angels from above prompt me

if I drop a line or miss a cue?

Will there be time? Time 

to learn my blocking? Time

to practice lines with friends?

If I hesitate will I be snatched

away to audition for the 

Devil's dance with the dead?

Long decades of conflict, 

complication, crisis, and resolution 

are essential to pull off a proper dying.

Anything shorter than three acts

would be undignified. Who ever heard

of a hero expiring in the first act?

What about applause and curtain calls?

Angels fancy encores don’t they? Perhaps 

Hamlet’s soliloquy: “To be or not to be.”

It’s enough to frighten one to death,

this idea of dying before the chance

to practice and master the part.

24 visualizaciones0 comentarios

Entradas Recientes

Ver todo
bottom of page