top of page
  • andreazurlo

Un bellissimo sogno (A beautiful dream)

A poem by Tony Zurlo





In a dream I got an email from my father's

sister's little girl. Don't delete yet: allow

me to interpret my dream, as the song

says, "with a little help from my friends."

I recall that sometime in the last century

a gathering of cousins, aunts, uncles,

grandmas and grandpas, infiltrated

by a few second and third cousins.

We spilled onto a yard with endless tables

of antipasto, fruit, and sweets; I was Joe

Dimaggio and you were Sophia Loren,

uncles tossed bocce balls and horseshoes.

I remember you, because we'd visit

your family on vacation trips north,

I remember being jealous of your

dad's Italian gestures and accent.

I remember your mom's intense care

for grandma. I remember only a little.

I was little and my world was small,

but to me you lived in a fantasy land.

Your world came storied by immigrants,

nurtured by an endless variety of foods.

Your world came wrapped with ribbons

of vivacious emotions and bear hugs.

A platoon of family protected your world,

congregating on holidays for games, for

stretching life, for nurture and renewal,

presided over by grandpa and grandma.

Imagine; in a dream I saw your face, your

art, your smile, and a few mental images

and chatter and laughter lost decades ago

seemed like yesterday's misplaced visit.

30 visualizaciones0 comentarios

Entradas Recientes

Ver todo
bottom of page