top of page
  • andreazurlo

There is a season (Turn, Turn, Turn) by Tony Zurlo



No more than a lump in the grass,

a motionless blue bird, eyelids shut,

wings stilled, tucked on each side

framing white breast and bronze collar,

no longer to glide the sky, no longer

looking to feed its young, no longer

to introduce the dawn, to sing

the joy of life with sweet turalees.

Without a proper shroud I wrapped bag

over bag over bag, and dug a small plot.

I knew no suitable burial prayer, so I

carefully laid to rest the blue bird.

After filling the plot, there remained

a tiny lump of dirt in the grass, so

with branches I rigged a cross, then

turned to leave the burial ground.

But I turned again for a last look

and saw miles away on the horizon

a rainbow forming in the sky

where there were no clouds or rain.


Tony Zurlo®, Arlington (Texas)


74 visualizaciones0 comentarios

Entradas Recientes

Ver todo
bottom of page