top of page
  • andreazurlo

For my students in China, by Tony Zurlo


















For My Students in China

Lilies lull in a pond, tulips line the pathway.

Old sycamores moan in the background,

weathered pines stretch their arms wide,

ancient Gingkoes shade the entrance.

I walk to a small covered shrine, a stone

sitting like Mi Le* among the trees.

Rubbing the stone's smooth belly

I make one final wish before I leave--

“They've sacrificed and suffered much

so leave them their dignity, their dreams

so they can help China restore the pride

and grandeur of past dynasties"

I wait for a sign--It's not by faith

alone. . . We’re promised a sign

But the stone wears its usual mask,

discolored and wrinkled by time.

Scar tissue falls from a line of birches

as their bones strain to stand up straight.

Willow arms obeying nature's moods,

sway with the wind, left then right.

I see my reflection in the placid pond.

"Foolish old man." I whisper my wish

to the old man in the pond, and

toss my wish to the water lilies.

*“Mi Le” means kindness, and is believed to bring

happiness, hope, and brightness to mankind.

Mi Le Fo (Buddha) is well recognized and known

as the Happy Buddha, the Laughing Buddha,

and the Lucky Buddha."

39 visualizaciones0 comentarios

Entradas recientes

Ver todo
bottom of page